Time for some science!

When hard liquor is distilled, the gluten protein is no longer present in the processed results. Meaning, when your hard liquor done, there is no gluten in it. However, you may want to go with the more well-known brands, such as Absolut or Frangelico. When companies use the cheaper ways to process their products, the finished alcohol may not be distilled completely or properly and therefore may contain trace amounts of gluten.

Science Over. Onto the Alcholic Fun!

We contacted some brands Sept. 2nd, 2009
Here's what they had to say:

Baileys
From Baileys: Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys is manufactured by fermenting grain which contains Gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to celiacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice to persons requiring a gluten free diet must consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys .
(If the whiskey is distilled properly, there should be no gluten in this product - mgfnj)


Absolut
The ingredients for ABSOLUT VODKA are grain (wheat), enzymes, yeast (S. cerevisiae) and water from our own well. For the flavoured versions, only natural ingredients from berries, fruits and spices are used.
The gluten is removed in the production process since the spirit is first fermented and then distilled hundreds of times. We call this continuous distillation, a process so efficient that it eliminates the need for filtration. The crude spirit passes continually through a total of six columns. This gives full control of distillation at every stage and removes all impurities. This strict distillation process separates the gluten in the grain from the alcohol, why it is highly unlikely that any gluten remains in ABSOLUT VODKA.
The question of possible residues of allergens in distilled spirits has been reviewed by the European Food Safety Agency. On the basis of this and other information, the EU Commission concludes that grain used before distillation does not need an allergen warning (Commission Directive 2007/68/EC).
We know allergic reactions can be caused by very small amounts (or even traces) of ingredients. We are not in a position to guarantee that the flavour ingredients have not come into contact with gluten during the suppliers' production processes. Since any medical advice should be given on a personal basis by a medical expert, we can not recommend persons suffering from allergies to consume our flavoured products.

Appleton Estate Rum
All of our rums are allergen free and do not include any of the following allergens:
Sulphites, Yellow #5, Gluten, Crustaceans, Eggs, Fish, Peanuts, Soybeans, Milk, Nuts, Celery, and Sesame seeds,

Bushmills
 All Bushmills whiskeys are gluten free. The distillation process removes the gluten from the cereal.


Frangelico
yeast and gluten free

Jack Daniels
Jack Daniel's Black Label Tennessee Whiskey has no carbohydrates (sugar or starch), gluten, fats, or cholesterol, as these are removed in the distilling process. One fluid ounce of Jack Daniel's contains approximately 65 calories

Jose Cuervo:
Being straight distilled spirits, all Jose Cuervo Tequilas are gluten free. In addition, Jose Cuervo Tequila Authentic Cuervo Margaritas, Margarita Minis, and Golden Margaritas are also gluten-free.

Grey Goose
Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding GREY GOOSE super-premium vodka.  Please be advised that the alcohol used in processing the vodka contains 100% wheat grain.  Therefore,GREY GOOSE vodka may contain trace amounts of gluten, because some of these ingredients are outsourced.  The exact quantity is unknown.


Web Hosting Companies